Break My Soul” is a song by American singer and songwriter Beyoncé. It was released on June 20, 2022, through Parkwood and Columbia, as the lead single from Beyoncé’s upcoming seventh studio album Renaissance (2022).

In an interview with the British Vogue in June 2022, Beyoncé announced her upcoming seventh studio album Renaissance, set for release on July 29, and called it “her most ambitious musical project to date”.

The song title and its release date were revealed through the singer’s social media bios on June 20, 2022; no further announcement was made. Several streaming services, including Spotify and Apple Music, immediately confirmed the news.

Originally intended to be released at midnight Eastern Time on June 21 to coincide with the 2022 June solstice, the song was released to music streaming service Tidal and YouTube two hours prior, on June 20.

“Break My Soul” marks Beyoncé’s first single release from a solo studio album in six years.

Pitchfork writer Matthew Strauss described the song as “a dance song that is intended to mark the start of a new era with new anthems”. Mikael Wood of the Los Angeles Times called the track a “a thumping 1990s-style house jam” with lyrics that connect the song “explicitly to its roots in Black and queer communities”.

Lyrically, the track sees Beyoncé “using her growliest voice to describe a search for liberation from a crushing job… and a nerve-jangling pandemic” and is “filled with dancefloor-friendly lines… and a repeated exhortation of ‘Everybody’.” In the chorus, “[t]he title is flipped” as Beyoncé sings “You won’t break my soul”.

The song prominently samples Big Freedia’s 2014 bounce song “Explode” and Robin S.’ 1993 house-pop single “Show Me Love”.

Break my soul beyonce credits

  • Beyoncé – vocals, production, vocal production
  • Tricky Stewart – production
  • The-Dream – production
  • Freddie Ross– backing vocals
  • Jens Christian Isaken – co-production
  • The Samples Choir – choir
  • Jason White – conductor
  • Andrea Roberts – engineering
  • John Cranfield – engineering
  • Matheus Braz – assistant engineering
  • Colin Leonard – mastering
  • Stuart White – mixing, recording
  • Brandon Harding – recording
  • Chris McLaughlin – recording, backing vocals

Comments are closed.