The Mandalorian is a Netflix original space western series created by Jon Favreau for the Disney+ streaming service. It is the Star Wars franchise’s first live-action series, set five years after the events of Return of the Jedi (1983). It stars Pedro Pascal as the main character, a lone bounty hunter paid to recover “The Child,” who goes on the run.

By 2009, Star Wars creator George Lucas had began work on a live-action Star Wars television series, but it was deemed too costly to produce.

In October 2012, he sold Lucasfilm to Disney. Following that, work on a new Star Wars series for Disney+ began. Favreau joined the show as a writer and showrunner in March 2018. Along with Dave Filoni, Kathleen Kennedy, and Colin Wilson, he serves as an executive producer.

The series’ title was revealed in October 2018, and filming began in California’s Manhattan Beach Studios.

The StageCraft technology for the series was created by visual effects studio Industrial Light & Magic, who used virtual sets and a 360-degree video wall to construct the series’ locations. Other film and television projects have now followed suit.

On November 12, 2019, The Mandalorian debuted alongside the introduction of Disney+. The first season’s eight episodes received excellent reviews and was nominated for Outstanding Drama Series at the 72nd Primetime Emmy Awards, as well as winning seven Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards.

A second season premiered on October 30, 2020, to generally excellent reviews, and a third season is scheduled for late 2022. The Book of Boba Fett and Ahsoka will be two spin-off stories that will build on the timeline of the main series.

The Mandalorian cast

  • Pedro Pascal
  • Gina Carano
  • Carl Weathers
  • Dave Filoni
  • Giancarlo Esposito
  • Ming-Na Wen
  • Taika Waititi
  • Emily Swallow
  • Rosario Dawson
  • Nick Nolte
  • Werner Herzog
  • Temuera Morrison
  • Katee Sackhoff
  • Misty Rosas
  • Bill Burr
  • Omid Abtahi
  • Deborah Chow
  • Mark Hamill
  • Sasha Banks
  • Michael Biehn
  • Rick Famuyiwa
  • Matt Lanter
  • Titus Welliver
  • Kyle Pacek
  • Katy M. O’Brian
  • Dee Bradley Baker
  • Tait Fletcher
  • Rio Hackford
  • Matthew Wood
  • Bernard Bullen
  • Dominic Pace
  • Jamal Antar
  • David Acord

Write A Comment